Podcast Shmodcast (ask me anything)

Starting a podcast is a lot more work than I expected it to be. Not that I imagined it being simple, but I didn’t realize there would be so many tiny details to remember, things as little as making sure to have the right tags on things, making sure to add metadata (after researching what metadata is). I’m happy to have my website/tech friends to answer my million questions along the way. 

I can’t wait to start. I have so much to talk about, but I’m just waiting while building up all of the background stuff before I actually get the ball rolling. If any of you have topics you’d like to hear me talk about or questions you’d like me to answer (advice, knowledge, etc.), don’t hesitate to leave a comment. I want to make this podcast as collaborative as possible. I’m a mental health therapist, ask me anything! 

19 thoughts on “Podcast Shmodcast (ask me anything)

  1. Can you talk about how to not feel guilty for not making progress as fast as you would like in therapy? It feels like you get this great advice and then when you leave the office you should have all these tools to cope with what’s going on, but you still have bad days.

    Like

    • My biggest question is about hosting my podcast! I understand that I need to host my podcast on a site with an RSS feed. Can that site be this WordPress blog site? Or do I have to go to an alternate hosting site, such as Libsyn? This has been the part that has been most confusing to me. Thanks so much for reaching out! I appreciate it 🙂

      Like

      • You can host on WordPress, but it’ll eat up a lot of data.

        There are many good hosts out there and I recommend going with them, since their services are tailored specifically for that reason. They all also automatically create your RSS feed, so you don’t need to struggle with it.

        Libsyn is a good option, and Blubrry offers a WordPress plugin that is pretty nifty (make sure you’re using a wordpress.com website, not .org, or it won’t work). My personal favorite is Pinecast. They’re very small at the moment, so you get personal attention, and the guy who created it always answers questions. It’s $5 a month for unlimited uploads, but your file sizes need to be below 60mb, I believe. If you’d like to try it out, here’s a referral code (r-1e1992) that’ll get you an additional 40% off for 4 months.

        Like

  2. I will be watching with my whole attention. I have a burning desire to podcast but my anxiety about doing it ‘perfect’ gets in the way.

    Like

  3. I feel your pain. I had no idea on how to start a podcast but after a hundred posts, I can safely say that I am getting there. Remember that YouTube is your friend with walkthroughs on recording and setting up the podcast.

    Like

  4. Hi mate, I’m looking forward to your podcast, I start my own tomorrow it’s an entertainment more than anything. I am studying counselling in October, any advice would be great? Welcome to WordPress

    Like

  5. my step sister is in this field. It’s a busy practice and when the market is doing poorly and people are losing their jobs, that’s when she is her busiest. Trying to keep those people healthy as they are dealing with depression and such. I hope you much success. As of now, I don’t have any questions, but that doesn’t mean they won’t pop up later. Good luck getting all your ducks in row so you can start soon!

    Like

  6. Hi. Thank you for following my blog. I look forward to exploring yours. If you don’t mind me asking, how did you come across mine? Just curious. Thank you!

    Like

  7. I’m really looking forward to listening your podcasts. One question i am curious about is how do you approach and help people going through mental illnesses such as depression, anxiety, etc.?

    Like

  8. I’m looking forward to listening to your podcasts. Since you said that you are a mental health therapist, I was wondering, could you suggest any tips or tricks to combat anxiety? I don’t think I have a serious case of anxiety, I just have “nervous energy” sometimes. Usually I try to distract myself but this makes me lose focus especially when I’m working. Are there any habits or ways to get rid of this nervous energy? It’s so annoying. I hate it but I can’t help it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

