Sunday Night Blues

Greetings from Michigan! This was a much needed self care weekend. I spent it swimming in lakes and climbing sand dunes with family. Although I feel refreshed, that doesn’t mean that I am not experiencing the Sunday Night Blues.

Working with people on a therapeutic level is sometimes draining. It is such a deep, personal level, and it’s typical to experience second-hand trauma with the population I work with. Even though we are taught methods of not letting other people’s experiences affect us, it is sometimes hard to accept that we are not immune to feeling for the stories we hear.

I love the work that I do, and because of that it’s hard for me to notice when I need a break. When I began to realize how drained I felt and how unfocused I was with work, I welcomed the opportunity to escape to Michigan for a few days. I ignored work related calls and text messages and tried to focus on the moments I was having with people I love.

This trip has motivated me to take better care of myself, physically and mentally. Going to the gym more frequently is going to become a priority, and taking more “Mental Health Days” from work is an idea that I have opened up to. It’s hard for me to remember that taking time off doesn’t mean I’m an unmotivated employee, it means I am taking responsibility by taking care of myself before I attempt to “take care” of others.

So tonight I’m pouring myself a cold glass of wine and preparing for tomorrow’s 15 hour trip back to Philadelphia (and hoping that I get to sleep through most of it)!

9 thoughts on “Sunday Night Blues

  1. Great blog. I want to be like a therapist when i grow up but i am warned that i will feel emotionally affected as well when dealing with people. We should experience them but keep them a bit aside so that it doesn’t have a damaging effect on us.
    Keep up the good work! 😁

    Like

  2. Great read. I struggle with carving out time for self care, too. It’s one of those things you don’t realize you’re neglecting until you’ve severely neglected it. Glad you got to escape to Michigan. I’ve got family up there and it’s always a treat to visit. Safe travels to you ❤️

    Like

  3. Self care is something I’m trying to focus on more this year as well. With the population of students I teach, I understand how sometimes “taking work home” is harmful. You mentioned that you’ve been trained to be able to compartmentalize and leave work at work, are there any books you can recommend?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

